System Workbench for STM32

I love it when mCU manufacturers makes it easy to get started for free. Even more when they use technologies I know from before. No esoteric compiler, no weird debugging system I’d have to learn and research.

When I started this blog post I thought I’d have to document many steps in order to get to tool-chain and the IDE up and running, but I was wrong.

Simply:

  1. Go to http://www.openstm32.org/
  2. Create an account or log in if you already have one
  3. Follow the Installing System Workbench for STM32 with installer guide
  4. You’re ready to build your first STM32 project!
syswork32
System Workbench for STM32

To make things even sexier, STMicroelectronics has a tool called STM32CubeMX which helps you configure peripherals, PLLs and generates driver libraries for you. If you need absolute max performance, you should write your own but if you want to quickly get up and running (or using USB peripheral) you’d be best off using the drivers if you ask me.

STM32CubeMX
STM32CubeMX

 

System Workbench for STM32

Leave a Reply

